First published as a leaflet in 2005, this short tour of Eynsham conservation area has been a huge success. View pdf >>
It includes images and notes on buildings and other items of interest, the "Streetwise" texts illustrated here, views from old photos to compare with the modern equivalent and a "Star Spotters" corner for younger tourists.
|21/05/2013 Eynsham Village Tour|
|12/08/2011 Eynsham Listed Buildings: map & table|
|13/05/2011 Bella and Joe Explore Eynsham|
Originally this was the main road south to Stanton Harcourt and the Abbey gate stood on the eastern side. Abbot Adam had the road diverted to the west to make more room for the Abbey buildings and fishponds. At the end is the Catholic church (begun in 1939, but not completed until 1967).
Lombard Street, which leads into Abbey Street, also contains the Baptist church (built in 1815).
Acre End Street - or Acre End as it is in the earliest maps – originally led to a track which crossed the Chilbrook and went on to Sutton and South Leigh. Up until the building of the A40 by- pass, this narrow road was the main route for traffic from London to South Wales.
This unassuming alley once had a channel - or conduit - running down it which brought water to the Abbey from the spring at the far end. It is now the official address of Eynsham Medical Centre.
Mill Street is so called because it extended north to Eynsham Mill, the mill of the medieval abbey which was situated not on the Thames, but on the Evenlode. Many years later it became a paper mill, supplying fine paper for Bible presses.
See also Listed Buildings - The Malthouse.
The Catholic Apostolic Church was a 19th century movement which had 12 founding 'Apostles' and a number of 'Angels' - the equivalent of Bishops. Unfortunately, since the original Apostles could not be replaced, and since only they could ordain Angels, when the last Apostle died the movement was doomed.
The church building in Eynsham was closed in the early 1980s and is now a private home.
This was originally the main street of the New Lands built in the 13th century. It was designed to be wide enough to hold a street market - to replace the original market close to the abbey. The abbot found the stallholders too rowdy! See also Public Houses - White Hart.
The northern boundary of New Lands ran along the bridleway at the top of what is now Hawthorn Road. Originally this was Eynsham's first by-pass: an ancient 'salt road' which ran east to the wharf on the Thames.
The Eynsham Record 1985 has an article on the newness of Newland Street (page 4).
A charming image of Eynsham to send as a gift - or to treasure. Look for the set in Eynsham Emporium.
As late as 1650 this was still Puck or Pug Lane. The new name may have been adopted in honour of Queen Anne. Halfway up is Queen's Lane, which marks the northern boundary of medieval Eynsham and the start of the borough of New Lands.
Image shows Lord's Farm - the home of Margaret Foote. For more information see the article in the Eynsham Record,1992 (page 34).
The heart of medieval Eynsham, the Market Square has been the commercial centre of the village ever since. The original, medieval square was much bigger - and included the entire area between Church Street, Lombard Street and Thames Street.
In the middle stood a Market Cross, intended to remind all those trading to deal fairly before God. The one now in the Square is a replica - the original is stored at Oxfordshire Museums Resource Centre.
You'll find most of these as you take the tour. See who finds most first!